Bella #31

Cooking For The King 400x600

(Remember its unedited. No comments from the grammar police)

Bella went from one young prince to the next. Whenever another male tried to dance with her he was effectively cut out by one of the princes. A hard hand on her shoulder spun her around.

“What?”

King Zerrin smiled down at her. “My sons have decided to pick my bride.”

Bella wrinkled her nose. “I don’t know that I would trust them with that decision, Your Highness, they can be easily bribed with candies.”

Zerrin wrapped an arm around Bella’s waist and began moving to the music. Bella had to cling to his jacket in order to not stumble in the ridiculous shoes the queen made her wear.

“Hmm, you do make a good point. Who do you think I should marry?”

Bella’s heart pounded in her chest. She swallowed convulsively as she desperately tried to find some moisture in her throat. “I’m sure I don’t know, Your Majesty. I’m certain any of the women here are qualified. I’d hope you would take your sons into consideration and choose someone who would make them a good mother.”

It wasn’t fair. If she proposed herself she’d look like the vainest creature on the planet. If she didn’t she appear look uninterested. Bella had to admit she truly didn’t want to be queen but she’d love to wake up next to the man holding her gently in his arms.

“Hmm, that is true. I should pick someone my children like. It wouldn’t hurt if she could handle them either. I suppose I could always turn them over to the servant’s if they get to wild.”

Bella dug in her heels. Fury burned through her. “If you dare abandon those boys I will poison your food and dance on your grave.” Bella yanked the stick pin out of her dress and stabbed it in into the king’s shoulder.

“Ouch, dammit Bella.”

Yanking out of his hold Bella pushed her way through the crowd. Idiot! How could she fall for a man who’d toss his kids aside? He was lucky he had so many guards because the temptation to get her chef knives and finish the job had her hands itching.

Warm laughter was her only warning before strong hands halted her progress through the crowds.

“Temper, temper, my sweet,” the king’s rich voice caressed her ear as he pulled her into his arms, her back to his front. “You’re going to have to learn to hold your anger if you plan on being queen.”

Bella stopped struggling. She barely remembered to breathe. “What are you talking about?”

Zerrin spun her around. Before Bella could spit out the words to eviscerate him where he stood, the king dropped to his knees. “Bella, my dear, I’ve been enamored with you since you brought me that first meal and all but dared me to not like it. My kids adore you, my mother likes you more than she likes me and I’m madly in love with you.” Zerrin reached into the inner pocket of his jacket and pulled out a ring box. “Bella, would you do me the honor of being my queen?”

A tug at her dress distracted her from the piercing eyes of the king.

Prince Varren looked up at her with his, wide innocent eyes. “Say yes Bella, then you can be my mama,” he whispered.

Bella blinked back tears. “I’d love that,” she whispered back to him.

Zerrin cleared his throat. “I take it that’s a yes because the marble is hell on my knees.”

Bella laughed. “Yes. I’ll marry you.”

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Bella #31

  1. Teena M.

    Wow so worth the long long wait.

  2. neesie85

    Was like… Yes!!! When I got the the snippet in my email…. Finished the entry went … Aww so sweet… Now am cursing you cos I want more… Grr!!!!

    Love Bella’s story can’t wait to buy the completed version… 🙂

  3. It’s so nice to catch up with Bella. Can’t wait to get the whole thing.

  4. heather f

    what everyone else said just AWESOME!!!!!!!

  5. i so want to buy the completed verison, i’ve been loving this, 🙂

  6. K

    Thankyou so much for getting back to this blog story. Does this mean we can hopefully expect the next instalment of ‘Rhea’ as well?..

  7. Meagan D

    Love this story..”Bangs head on desk” why or why are you so good with cliffhangers…

  8. Clarissa

    when can I purhase this one??????

Leave a Reply

