Rhea #22

Luckily they didn’t run into anyone willing to stop them on their way back to the market.

“You think the dragon will still be here?” Rafe asked.

“I don’t know but he doesn’t strike me as someone who gives up easily,” Rhea said.

They passed the food seller and turned the corner before they saw the dragonman again.

“Hello my pretty!” Brurien said.

“Hello Brurien,” Rhea replied.

The dragonman leader didn’t seem surprised to see her again if his smug smile was anything to go by. But maybe dragons always looked smug.

“Let’s walk.” Brurien extended his arm.

Rhea slid her hand into the crook of his arm. Her guards flanked them a few steps behind.

Brurien regarded them with amusement. “Do they think they can do something if I decide to attack?”

“We might be able to stop her from killing you,” Rafe offered with a toothy smile.

Rhea laughed.

“Your cat is funny,” Brurien said with a growl.

“He wasn’t kidding.” Rhea let her magic bleed into her eyes until she could feel them burn. She couldn’t let the dragon think she was weak. She still didn’t know what he wanted her for.

“Hmm you are intriguing,” Brurien purred.

“What is it you want dragon?” Rhea asked.

“This world is low on magic. Our eggs are hatching less each year. We would like you to charge our breeding stone with moon magic. It will help make our eggs more viable. As soon as I saw you I knew you were the one to help us.” The fervor in Brurien’s voice told Rhea how much the dragon believed in his words.

“I thought you laid eggs in the sand?” Rhea asked. Curiosity about the dragons would be her downfall. The more questions she asked the more she knew she’d end up doing it. She never could resist anyone in trouble.

“We started that a few years ago when our stones stopped providing protection and warmth. I see in you the hope of my people. If you help me I will even put in a good word for you with the king,” the dragon grinned.

“I thought you said you wanted me to help you,” Rhea said dryly.

Brurien threw back his head and laughed. “I think I’m going to enjoy working with you my dear.”

“How many rocks do you need me to charge?” Rhea could feel the magic grinding away at her bones. It would be a relief to burn away some of her power.

“Ideally five. I don’t know how many you’ll be able to do but I have that many stones I’d like to have charged.”

“What does Rhea get out of it?” Peller asked.

Brurien smiled. “What do you want my dear?”

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “Rhea #22

  1. Katie 13

    I wonder just how she has to “charge” the stones….

  2. heather f

    oooooo what is she going to do???!!!!!!

  3. I really need to buy this book when it comes out

  4. Donna

    Intriguing. I never would have guessed this direction. That’s why you’re the writer and I’m the reader, right? 🙂
    Donna

  5. JenCW

    I wonder how long she’ll feel drained after charging the stones.

  6. TerriA

    Hope you’re feeling better.
    Excellent twist.

  7. Evi

    Hope you had a happy holiday and are feeling better and great story.

  8. Melinda

    Hmmmm….what does she want?

  9. ckh988

    I’m really liking the way this story is going. It just keeps surprising me with each new installment.

  10. Krista

    Thanks Amber I hope you had a wonderful birthday and thanksgiving. I am loving you story. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Laurie P

    Hmmm, and what does it take to “charge” the stones and what kind of relationship does Brurien and Teven have??

  12. Jessica B

    5 stones and 5 moons. . . any significance there? really enjoying the story, can’t wait to read more.

  13. CC

    Can’t wait to see what happens next. And how does the dragon man know the king?

  14. berryblu

    I like the way this is going. 🙂 I think the king won’t be happy though. LOL

    Thanks Amber and I hope you’re feeling better.

  15. Feel Better Amber and I wonder what Rhea will ask for in return….

  16. Tera

    Okay, this is getting really interesting 🙂

  17. devon

    cool 🙂

    I hope you are feeling better and were able to enjoy Turkey Day and your birthday

  18. Sandra9

    hhmmm i wonder if the dragon is telling her everything she needs to know

  19. Lillian

    Sounds too easy.

  20. Marie A

    Hope you are feeling better:) I wonder if how Brurien and the King get along (or not) . . . since Brurien thinks he can put a good word with the king . . .

  21. Jessica Hale

    what to do and is that everything he wants 🙂

  22. Deborah H

    Ohhh I wonder what going to happen?

  23. Cinders

    Love it! Can’t wait for more.

  24. Teena M.

    oh boy that is a loaded question, I can’t wait to find out what she says.

  25. lin

    Love it…want more

  26. SuzyQue

    I’m starting to like the dragonman, he’s got a sense of humor!

  27. H.B.

    Love the flirtatious banter. I can’t wait to see what happens when she’s charging the stones.

  28. intriguing … Can not wait to see what happens next..:) 🙂

  29. Sami

    glad Rhea is finding another productive way to burn off her energy

  30. kellee

    Somehow I think this is much more dangerous than just charging of stones – perhaps the dragonman is not just planning on hatching some eggs?

  31. Silence

    another way to burn off energy

  32. Rain

    Hmm, that’s an interesting offer.

  33. zeneida

    Oh will this be agood idea

  34. Interesting…wonder what she’ll ask for?

Leave a Reply

