Rhea #6

Sorry it’s so late. I had a horrible headache yesterday and hubby went out of town so I’ve been running behind. Here is it!

* * * *

Claws scrabbled on the roof. Soldiers pulled out their weapons and began to prepare for battle.

“What is it?” Jamie screamed.

“I don’t know.” Four soldiers ran into their car and took up positioning around Jamie and Rhea in a semi-circle.

“Dragons!” One of the soldiers shouted.

“I guess you’re going to get your wish.” Jamie said.

Rhea could tell her sister was trying to appear nonchalant but her fingertips were white where she gripped the sides of her bench seat.

The roars increased and with it the sound of something hitting the roof.

“Shit there’s more than one!” The biggest of the four guards muttered. He tried to be quiet but Rhea heard his desperation.

“Are they usually this aggressive?” Rhea’s book hadn’t mentioned the dragons were violent. They’d only listed they enjoyed a desert habitat.

“It’s egg laying season.” One of the soldiers offered. “They must’ve buried them near the tracks.”

That would explain it. “Are you going to kill them?”

“There’s no other way to get them off the train.”

Rhea’s heart bled for the little dragonlings that would be born without a parent to teach them what to do. They probably wouldn’t survive the first day. Desert predators would snatch them up.

She couldn’t let them do that.

Looking down at her hands she smiled. Moon power glowed from her palms. Rhea closed her eyes and pulled more magic to the surface. Where before she tried to suppress it, now she called it to her.

Rhea gasped as cool energy coated her insides like a blast of ice crystals. Remembering her training, the meditation she learned at her mother’s knee she focused. The soldiers floated to the side as Rhea mentally moved them out of the way.

Saving the dragons was in the forefront of her mind. She needed to rescue the creatures. If she didn’t the others would die. Why she cared she couldn’t have said but she did and she’d do whatever it took to rescue them.

“What are you doing?” Jamie asked, her voice high with the strain of fear.

Rhea looked through the glass door of the car and saw the ladder leading to the roof.

“Don’t mind me. I’ll be right back.” Rhea didn’t glance her sister’s way she didn’t need the lecture she could already hear on her sister’s lips. Rhea’s job on that journey was to protect her sister. No one told her how she had to do it.

Foolish of them.

41 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

41 responses to “Rhea #6

  1. wendy h

    Well, this should be interesting. I guess that this is one way to burn off all of the extra moon power she is currently feeling

  2. Diane A

    Definitely a positive way to redirect her energy!!!
    I hope you’re feeling better, take care 🙂

  3. ckh988

    Yay, she’s using her powers! Very cool. Get better soon and don’t push yourself too hard. Happy Birthday Amber!

  4. neesie85

    He he he its getting interesting!!!

  5. Melinda

    Can’t wait for more.

  6. Rain

    Playing with dragons… 😀

  7. Donna

    Go Rhea! My best friend’s name is Rhea, and this is just what she would do! Courageous lot, those Rheas.

  8. cherri h

    Holy moly woot woot

  9. kellee

    Power and dragons! Yeah! I hope your headache is better.

  10. Krista

    Wow need more. Can’t wait to see how she handles the dragons.

  11. Tracy VH

    Dragons – love them!

  12. Cinders

    LOL Go Rhea go girl!! Loving it! I hope you feel better soon.

  13. Marie A

    I hope your head feels better!

  14. berryblu

    Oh, I hope you’re feeling better. Love the “foolish” others. 😉

  15. devon

    I love Rhea! (and the “Foolish others” is great.) 🙂

  16. dracolady

    I was hoping for dragons.

  17. Carrie

    Love dragons can’t wait to see how this goes.

  18. Deborah H

    So short I can’t wait for tomorrw for more!

  19. oh man *pouts* This is getting soooo good.

  20. CC

    Really, really good.

  21. Teena M.

    I was loving this story before but now that dragons have entered the picture I love it even more……

  22. heather f

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

  23. younela

    I hope your headache has gone now! Absolutely loving these instalments. I do hope it comes out as a complete book sooner rather than later.

  24. Evi

    Holy crap that was so short but so good! I cant wait for the next one! Great installment!

  25. I love the Dragons !!! And I think the should be protected. Awesome!!
    Hope you feel better soon!! 🙂

  26. Chris Roberts

    Ohhhh. I can’t wait to see what she does!!!

  27. Sabrina v.

    Headaches are evil. Hope you Feel better! Ooh it’s getting better and better. I can’t wait to find out she handles this situation and what the guards think.

  28. TerriA

    Sending good vibes your way.. *g* Can’t wait to meet the dragons.

  29. Jen

    Yes! Dragons! This is getting better and better. Hopefully, your headache is also getting better as well!

  30. Jessica Hale

    dragons, wonder what she will do 🙂

  31. Lillian

    Sorry about the headache. Wow. Great chapter.
    Lillian

  32. Bobbi

    This is getting better and better!

  33. Jenn

    A story is always better with dragons. I thought it was interesting that her moon magic gives her a icy feel. I always thought of magic as a warm cosy feel. Thanks for making think in a new way.

  34. Suzy Que

    I hope that they are pretty interesting dragons!

  35. Zeneida

    Hope you are better. Great writting and yes they were foolish indeed. Thanks .

  36. Christine F.

    Yeah dragons. I hope your headache is better.

  37. Laurie H

    I wonder if they are protecting the eggs or are they after Rhea? And do they shift shape? What about the guards, what are they going to think about 1 woman protecting ALL of them…

  38. H.B.

    oh yeah~!! dragons 🙂 I hope your headache gets better.

  39. Marie*

    Wow I got goosebumps 😉
    Remember Ginger Ale for headaches & upset tummys 🙂

  40. Msjbelle

    Really liking this story! I like how your mind works. ; )

Leave a Reply

