Blog Story Part 8

You will get two blog postings this week since I didn’t post one last week.

The duke didn’t live up to the villain Bella had promoted him to in her mind. Tall, handsome and self-assured the man looked like a star in a romance show. The kind Bella never watched because the characters were all one-dimensional.

“So this is the king’s chef,” he mused. His eyes sparkled when he looked at her as if he knew where all the dead bodies were buried but wasn’t going to share.

“Yep. Is there a reason you’re interrupting my day off?” Bella might regret it later but she didn’t feel obligated to be polite to a man who pulled her off the street just when the shopping was getting fun.

“I can’t get to you at the castle, the king is too protective. I only wished to meet the woman who can please the picky king. I’ve known Zarrin his entire life and never has he been happy with anyone who prepared his food. Between him and those brats of his they’ve scared everyone off.”

Bella gritted her teeth. “Those brats as you call them are delightful children.”

“Oh, looking to fill the role of mommy?” the duke taunted.

Bella could almost hear her patience snap. “If you are done mocking me and the royal family I’m ready to leave.”

“Shame then, that I’ve decided to keep you.” The duke’s expression hardened and Bella realized she’d been mistaken before when she thought he didn’t look menacing.

“What do you mean?”

The duke smiled. “Relax my little chef, I don’t mean anything close to what you are obviously thinking. I need a bargaining chip in my upcoming negotiations and you are perfect.”

Bella scowled at the duke. “And you think I’m going to let you keep me?”

“You can’t stop me.”

“You’re an idiot.” Bella spun around and with a roundhouse kick knocked out the guard. When the duke grabbed her left arm she spun into him and elbowed him in the face. She smiled at the crunching sound and subsequent howl of pain. Releasing Bella he clutched his face. Blood poured out from between his fingers. Unluckily for him he decided to meet Bella alone with only the one guard in attendance.

Snatching up her newly purchased knife from her boot, Bella brandished it at the guard.

“I’m not strong enough to stand up to kings,” the guard said stepping back. “You’ve got five minutes.”

Bella tucked the knife back into her boot and fled.

 

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Blog Story Part 8

  1. Evi

    Yay! I’ve been waiting for this next installment forvever! Since I’ve already read all your books out I have very little entertainment and look forward to your blog stories in between waiting on the next books. Keep up the stupendous work! 😉

  2. Diane A

    Ohhh, this is getting even better!
    I’m liking this story!!!

  3. Crystal M.

    Can’t wait for the next installment. Guess the Duke will learn not to judge a book by its cover.

  4. jessica canoto

    you go bella show them not to mess with you am so happy now that i got my fix love it can’t wait fo more

  5. Teena

    lol looks like the Duke should’ve did some research on Bella be for he decided to kidnap her. Bella is one tough cookie… Can’t wait for the next installment…

  6. devon

    love love love this – waiting is so hard! 🙂

  7. Carrie

    what a jerk, that duke. Good for Bella way to kick butt.

  8. Colleen S.

    Woot! Why to go Bella! Kick somoe a$$! Show them that some women dont take crap from anyone! Cant wait for next post.

  9. Erika S.

    Oh my, I do believe the Duke is going to regret that rash decision!

  10. The woman handles knives all of the time, obviously the Duke is an IDIOT!

  11. Lisa D.

    Yes. Way to kick butt.

  12. Msjbelle

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write an extra installment of this story. I know how crazy it is when you’re trying to move, cleaning up at the old house and organizing the new one, hectic. This is why I’m a fan; your consideration for your fans.

Leave a Reply

